News

New York Comic Con 2020

The Metaverse

New York Comic Con 2020 is going virtual!

Like most events, New York Comic Con will not be going ahead in the ‘normal’ manner this year. But that doesn’t mean we have to miss out! New York Comic Con and MCM Comic Con have joined forces to create The Metaverse.

Over 4 days, October 8th to October 11th, we will be treated to free panels from all our favourite fandoms.

 

For the Star Wars audience there are 3 specific panels:

  • The Great Disaster Hits! Polygon Discovers the Secrets of Star Wars – The High Republic
  • Lucasfilm Publishing – Stories from a Galaxy Far, Far Away
  • The Jedi Mind – Lessons in Mindfulness from Star Wars
The Great Disaster Hits! Polygon Discovers the Secrets of Star Wars – The High Republic

8th October 2020 – 5:30pm ET/10:30pm UK

Join the story architects of Star Wars: The High Republic as they introduce the heroes of a brand new saga, set centuries before the Skywalker saga, and reveal details of the central event that forever changes the galaxy far, far, away. Moderated by Polygon’s comics editor, Susana Polo, the panel features writers Claudia Gray, Charles Soule, Justina Ireland, Daniel José Older, and Cavan Scott, along with Lucasfilm Publishing executive editor Jennifer Heddle and creative director Michael Siglain

Star Wars High Republic

Lucasfilm Publishing – Stories from a Galaxy Far, Far Away

9th October 2020 – 10:35am ET/3:35pm UK

Join some of the biggest and best Star Wars authors as they talk about some of their exciting new projects set in a galaxy far, far away. Featuring Daniel José Older, Preetei Chhibber, Phil Szostak, Katie Cook, Zoraida Cordova,and Amy Ratcliffe. Moderated by This Week In Star Wars host Kristin Baver.

The Art of The Rise of Skywalker

The Jedi Mind – Lessons in Mindfulness from Star Wars

9th October 2020 – 11:10am ET/4:10pm UK

The code that all Jedi strive to follow offers principles for being at peace and learning. In fact, these tenets are useful not just in a galaxy far, far away, but here in our own world. While the Force isn’t present in our galaxy, we can still learn from how the Jedi use it to guide their lives. And we can use these lessons about the Force as a gateway to studying mindfulness and putting practices into action. Join us for an exploration of how the practice of mindfulness inspires and empowers some of our favorite Star Wars characters, and how we can bring some of that inspiration into our everyday lives. Panelists include Amy Ratcliffe, Managing Editor of Nerdist and author of The Jedi Mind; Ashley Eckstein, the voice of Ahsoka Tano on Star Wars: The Clone Wars and Star Wars Rebels, and founder of Her Universe; and Dr. Drea Letamendi psychologist and co-host of the Lattes with Leia podcast.

While not strictly Star Wars, Alan Tudyk and Kelly Marie Tran will also be on panels talking about their respective projects, Resident Alien and Monsterland.

Resident Alien – October 9th 4:55pm ET/9:55pm UK

Monsterland – October 9th 7:55pm ET/12:55am (10th Oct) UK

Alan Tudyk Kelly Marie Tran

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kevin Smith vs Chris Jericho: Movie Trivia Schmoedown Hits NYCC!

The one panel I will definitely not miss, is the Movie Trivia Schmoedown between Kevin Smith and Chris Jericho. This is bound to be super competitive and involve a lot of laughs as they ‘compete to see who has the most knowledge across popular showdowns (think: Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Marvel, DC, etc.)’ The Schmoedown will be live on October 8th 8:25pm ET/1:25am (Oct 9th) UK.

With so many panels to choose from, be sure to check out the full schedule here so you don’t miss out. Panels will be streamed live and free on You Tube #NYCCMetaverse.

Source
New York Comic Con
Tags

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)